Golf ball Wacker

Every year, the company I work for, hosts a company golf competition. It seem that a good 20% of the employees and many representatives of our largest suppliers turn out to whack at balls…excuse me…play golf. Ive never gone before because I don’t know how to play. But this year Man-o-mine wanted to go so I decided to volunteer. I spent most of the day riding around in a golf cart with a camera taking pictures of other people having a great time. Don’t get me wrong, I did enjoy myself, but what everyone else was doing seemed like such a blast, and I was missing out.

IMG_0501

So I started thinking about learning too, but there was a problem that prohibited me from even starting. I didn’t have any gear, and just going to a course is expensive enough without renting the clubs too!

IMG_7667

Well, when we went to the V & K’s wedding, another couple of friends put us up in their guest house. They had heard that I was looking to learn and they marched us into their garage and proceeded to pull out two sets of clubs, bags, carts, and a mess o golf balls for us to have.

IMG_0492

Man-O-mine wanted to start me off soft, so all of us drove over to a little 3-par course only a couple miles from our house and I played my first game. They were so patient teaching me and staying slow for me. I had a blast! Since then, we’ve gone to the range a couple of times and played 9-holes with my coworker after work a couple of times.

IMG_0780

I can’t say I’m any good, but I have a ton of fun every time. So I guess I’d say I’m officially a ball-wacker now!

IMG_0794

(it was super smokey that day!..and getting dark)

Leave a comment